Skip links

Skip to content
Water Tower Arts District WaterTowerArtsDistrict_Logo

Society of Architectural Historians

$10 adults, $8 seniors and students, $5 ages 5–13; free to SAH members, Illinois teachers with an ID, and Blue Star Families
Guided Tours of Charnley-Persky House:
Wednesday 12 p.m.
Saturday 10 p.m., 12 p.m.

Society of Architectural Historians

The Society of Architectural Historians (SAH) is a nonprofit membership organization that promotes the study, interpretation and conservation of architecture, design, landscapes, and urbanism worldwide. Founded in 1940, SAH serves a network of local, national, and international institutions and individuals who, by profession or interest, focus on the history of the built environment and its role in shaping contemporary life. SAH promotes meaningful public engagement with the history of the built environment through advocacy efforts, print and online publications, and local, national and international programs.

SAH is headquartered in the historic Charnley-Persky House, designed by the team of Chicago architects Louis H. Sullivan and Frank Lloyd Wright.  It was constructed in 1891-1892 for the 19th-century serial entrepreneur, James Charnley, and his wife, Helen, who also were friends of Louis Sullivan.  Regular tours of the house are scheduled for Wednesdays and Saturdays.  See tour schedule on this page.

  • APR 6–DEC 14, 2019

    Society of Architectural Historians

    Additional Saturday Tours of Charnley-Persky House for Chicago Architecture Biennial